World Class Physical Education

I am always looking for new innovative strategies to develop my own practice, but also to discover ways to share this with colleagues. My Pocket account is always full of articles that have been shared by colleagues on Twitter or that I have found on the internet. This is all very well for my own of CPD – but as I become increasingly involved and interested in CPD delivery to trainee teachers, teachers and SLT – it is increasingly important that I share these articles.

To meet this requirement, I will be creating a fortnightly e-magazine named ‘World Class PE‘, as a PE department we build towards being ‘beyond outstanding’. Sharing outstanding blog posts & websites with colleagues at school and on Twitter will help meet this target.

The first issue focuses on what makes a ‘Great Lesson‘ from Tom Sherrington‘s 10 part ‘Great Lesson’ series.

You can read the first issue here.
The second issue can be found here.

World Class PE

Jon Tait (@teamtait) started using Smore in early 2013 for this exact reason and inspired the development of the ‘World Class PE’ e-magazine. You can find his ‘Connected’ e-magazine series here.

Please contact me if you have any questions or would like to be included in the fortnightly mailing list.

13 Comments Add yours

    1. Jorja Harrison says:

      This looks fantastic, I am new to twitter but am a PE enthusiast and would love to receive your newsletters – harrisjk@mlc.vic.edu.au many
      thanks.

  1. David Muldoon says:

    Can you please add me to your mailing list
    david.muldoon650@schools.sa.edu.au
    Thank you

  2. I’m Aaron Ferguson, a student at University of South Alabama in the States. Our class is required to visit some blogs, comment and summarize them in a later post.
    My impressions of this entry are all positive. I mean, this is what blogging is about right? The sharing of experiences and information.
    Good luck with it!

  3. Hunter Reid says:

    I am Hunter Reid, a student at the University of South Alabama I really enjoyed you sharing this information with everyone. Thanks and good luck

  4. Holly Shaw says:

    Hi! My name is Holly Shaw and I am a student at the University of South Alabama. I think that it is great that you are always searching for new strategies. I really enjoyed all the articles and look forward to reading future ones.

  5. Hello,
    My name is Roshawnda Thompson, I am a student in EDM310 at the University of South Alabama. I really like that you are always on the search for new ideas. Your articles are also very great reads. I look forward to reading more. Good Luck with the newsletter.

  6. Hello, My name is Sterling Spencer and I am a student at the University of South Alabama. I am taking my EDM 310 class and we are required to read a teachers blog and comment on it.

    I really enjoy finding teachers that really love what they do. Your passion shines through in your articles and that inspires me. I really hope your E-Magazine takes off. Good luck with it!

  7. Macy Roe says:

    Hey! My name is Macy Roe, I am a student at the University of South Alabama. I am currently in Dr. Strange EDM310 class. I agree with how you are always searching for new ideas. Your links were great, I enjoy seeing all kind of different teaching methods.

  8. Mr. Wickens, your blog is very unique and interesting to read and learn from. Your blog is one that I would like to model mine after in the near future when I have my own class blog.

  9. Mr. Wickens, From reading a few of your posts you really seem to know what you’re talking about and wish to help further your field. I plan on being a History teacher when I’m done with school but I’m also starting to coach. because of this i would love to read what you can find in the aspect of physical education. please sign me up for your mailing list: eyeranman@gmail.com
    -Noah Armstrong

  10. Raven says:

    Hi! My name is Raven Williams and I am a student in EDM310 at the University of South Alabama. I think that it’s great that you are always looking for new teaching ideas and choose to share them with others. Good luck with your e-magazine!

Leave a Reply

