Google Chrome in Education

I have been meaning to write a blog post on Google Chrome for a while now, and after seeing @MrRobbo‘s post on Google Chrome for PE Teachers earlier today, I feel like I should publish this now.

I recommend that you read MrRobbo‘s post as I will not repeat, in detail, the features he highlights in this blog post – but I would like to bring your attention to the user features of the web browser.

Google Chrome

The browser is a fantastic tool to personalise your online experience using the Apps and Extensions. I personally use Gmail, Evernote, GoogleDrive, Dropbox, TweetDeck and Google+ extensions to . I can imagine that there are a number of other extensions/apps that I am still to come across.

But, the feature I feel is the most useful is the ability to have different user accounts to personalise/privatise your browser. For me, this enables me to have a private, professional and student web browser with separate bookmarks, apps and extensions. As an educator, this is essential!

This feature allows me to bookmark my social life (Facebook, Twitter, iPlayer, SkyBet (ssshhhh), Sky Sports News, eBay etc) and keep it completely separate from web pages I bookmark for use in planning, lessons and PLN. I have also created an account for when students may use my laptop in the classroom, where I have bookmarked the websites I feel will be most useful/user friendly for students.

This feature has bought that extra security to my browsing experience.

Google have created a video:

 

To add additional accounts, click on the top left of the browser (usually an icon like a face/football etc) and click on ‘new user’. You will need to create a new Google account, but as I already have a Google account for professional (mrwickenspe@gmail.com), personal and student interactions, this was not a problem.

If the icon is not in the top left, click on ‘customise and control Google Chrome’, and then ‘Settings’. Scroll down to the ‘User’ tab and then add additional users.

Here is some additional support from the Google forum.

 

Another great feature of Chrome
If you have Chrome downloaded onto your handheld device (eg. iPhone/iPad); your bookmarks, history, and even your open tabs sync to have a completely fluid user experience across device and platform.

 

How do you use additional users in Chrome?

7 Comments Add yours

  1. Samantha Wesson says:

    I never knew Google Chrome allowed you to do all of that! That is extremely convenient to be able to have different user accounts, and personalize each one of them with the apps and tools that you need. It makes it simpler for you to find what you’re looking for, and also easier for you to keep your home and work life separate. Google is making a better technological experience for everyone, and also making it seem less necessary to keep these tools out of the classroom.

    Samantha Wesson
    EDM 310

  2. robertmsolway says:

    Reblogged this on Subject Support for Physical Education and Sport and commented:
    An enlightening blog by Ross Wickens (@MrWickensPE) about the use of Google Chroms for PE Teahcers

  3. Hi! I’ve been following your web site for a while now and finally got the courage to go ahead and give you a shout out from Humble Tx! Just wanted to tell you keep up the great work!

  4. Stephen Alexander says:

    A very informing post. I am still currently a student in college this will help me a lot once I get my own class.

    Thank you for the post.
    Stephen

  5. jamie says:

    Hello my name is jamie and I am a student at The University of South Alabama. I enjoyed your post, and found it to be very helpful. I had not idea that google chrome had so many great features. I would also like to thank you for adding instructions in your post for adding additional accounts. I will be posting a summary of your post to my blog page at htt://risnerjamielynnedm310.blogspot.com. Thank you.

  6. Corey Waldon says:

    Hello it is Corey Waldon again from the university of South Alabama. I see in this post you are talking about google chrome and how it can be used. Growing up internet explorer was my web browser and it has nothing on what I have experienced with google chrome. A lot of the setting and the things you are allowed to do, makes using a computer that much easier. Again thanks for your insight o Goggle chrome.

  7. Hello, my name is Sterling Spencer and I am a student at the University of South Alabama. I love your write up on Google Chrome. I started with Internet Explorer and then upgraded to Firefox. I just downloaded Google Chrome and I love it. I think it is one of the best internet browsers I have ever used. Thanks again for the post on Google Chrome!

Leave a Reply

