iPad Training – Top Apps

Some days, like today, can really inspire you to continue to use an iPad in Education. Seeing the excitement in colleagues faces as they see the possibilities of the iPad, sometimes for the first time!

I was invited to attend an iPad training session for Primary School teachers organised by Jayne Clancy (@Cyclanj), a local Primary School Headteacher and run by Joe Moretti (@Joe_Moretti), an ICT in Education consultant. I would like to take this opportunity to thank both Joe and Jayne for today; everything that was shared today you will find below.

Please continue to read even if you teach Secondary/Higher Ed. Being a secondary school teacher myself I certainly still found great tips and advice in Apps that can easily be transferred into Secondary education.

Distribution
Firstly, it was stressed that no matter what students create, it is important that it can be distributed. Around the class, school or world so that that the teacher, peers or other stakeholders may be able to have access to the content. This give the work as sense of meaning and purpose for the student: why share between the student and the teacher when you can share with the world today?

Camera & Photo Roll
I think we as educators easily pass over the simplicity and ease of use the basic Camera App brings to the iPad. The ease of which a student or educator can share multimedia content with only a few simple gestures makes this a very user friendly App. The introduction of photo editing Apps has taken over the Camera App, but don’t neglect it!!

Explain Everything
Explain Everything is an App I have discussed and shared a number of times already on this blog (The Battle of the Creative iPad Apps; Apps in Education and Primary Head Teachers – iPads in Education).

This App is a portable, multi-user interactive whiteboard. The end of a standalone, static board at the front of the room; take the whiteboard to the students via the iPad and reflect the iPad onto the screen via Apple TV, VGA or the Reflection App.

The ability to draw, insert pictures, web browsers as well as basic text makes this ‘interactive whiteboard’ more interactive than the traditional!

iFiles
Now this excited me!

With an emphasis on being able to distribute student creations throughout, iFiles ticks all the boxes. With it’s Synchronisation with Dropbox, iCloud, GoogleDocs/Drive and your school server; you can access all your files in one accessible place.

The top feature for me, is being able to share your files from iFile to iFile through WiFi or the devices Bluetooth to other devices. Student collaboration at its peak!

Book Creator/Creative Book Builder
You guessed it, Book Creator and Creative Book Builder allow you to create ePub books for portable devices – just like the iBook creator on Mac!

You can share your books via email, iFiles, Dropbox etc. as well as open in iBooks. It allows you to insert text, video, audio and text just like an eBook.

Personally, although Book Creator would be better for Primary aged students and lower KS3, I feel that Creative Book Builder will be better suited for Secondary aged students and for teachers to create their own books. Creative Book Builder also gives you the option to export as a PDF as well as a ePub.

iCab Mobile
An internet browser that allows you to download YouTube videos to your Camera Roll to then insert in other Apps like Explain Everything and to email!

A must have!!

Pages, Keynote & Numbers
Apples versions of Word, PowerPoint and Excel respectively. Due to the price (£6.99) I had only downloaded Keynote and Numbers, but after seeing Pages in action today, it is now taken pride of place on my iPad AND iPhone.

NearPod
After never using NearPod since downloading when it was first released a few months ago, I have now seen it being used effectively. A top App that beats it’s rival Socrative – sorry guys! It allows the teacher to dictate what the student see’s on their iPad screen, but is also interactive with the introduction of widgets like polling, movies, Q&A, Quizzes and Drawings.

A must have if you have more than one iPad in a class. Also with a paid/class account you can access this through a desktop.

PuppetPalsHD and iMovie were also explained during the session, with iMovie an excellent tool to perfect those Explain Everything videos you create for your class!

7 Comments Add yours

  1. Stacy Smith says:

    My name is Stacy Smith and I am a elementary education major at the University of South Alabama. One of my assignments for my EDM 310 class is to comment on your last post. I will post again by September the 23rd before I summarize the two post and comments on my own blog. I found your post exciting and encouraging because I believe that these Apps can help me on my path to becoming technology literate. I agree that the iPad is a great learning and teaching tool. I recently was amazed when I saw a young child playing on an iPad. It is great that you were able to attend this session and learn how these Apps can be used in teaching and learning. Even more I appreciate that you shared what you have learned with others. Now we all can become better teachers by applying these Apps to our own classroom.

  2. Ralf says:

    I agree that the iPad is a great learning and teaching tool. I recently was amazed when I saw a young child playing on an iPad. It is great that you were able to attend this session and learn how these Apps can be used in teaching and learning

  3. Nice post. I learn something totally new and
    challenging on blogs I stumbleupon on a daily basis.
    It will always be exciting to read through content from other writers and practice something from
    their websites.

  4. Facebook says:

    Just desire to say your article is as astonishing. The clearness in your post is simply excellent and i can assume you are an
    expert on this subject. Fine with your permission let
    me to grab your feed to keep up to date with forthcoming post.
    Thanks a million and please keep up the enjoyable
    work.

  5. I know this if off topic but I’m looking into starting my own blog and was curious what all is required to get set up? I’m assuming having
    a blog like yours would cost a pretty penny? I’m not very internet savvy so I’m not 100% certain. Any recommendations or advice would be greatly appreciated. Thanks

    1. mrwickenspe says:

      It is 100% free and very easy to run. I highly recommend using WordPress due to its easy interface and access.

  6. ipad classes says:

    I was very happy to find this great site. I wanted
    to thank you for your time for this particularly wonderful read!
    ! I definitely really liked every little bit of it and
    i also have you saved as a favorite to check
    out new things on your site.

Leave a Reply

