The PEGeeks Sports Rules App

Since downloading @mrrobbo’s app, ‘Sports Rules’ I have been looking at how to use the app in core PE. Today, I have used the app for students to be responsible for their own learning by researching the details of the rules of basketball rather than relying on a teacher to explain.

20120131-222615.jpg

I couldn’t believe how a simple app could be so effective in engaging all my Year 9 PE group to take control of their own learning. Although some students still felt the need to approach me for answers, after they realised that I would always be directing them towards my iPad to work independently they soon took this responsibility for themselves. Obviously I would not be leaving students in the dark, but I required students to demonstrate that they have used at least 3 sources of information (iPad, peers, worksheets) before I would work with them (3B4Me).

The amount of progress shown throughout the lesson was far in access of what I expected for such a simple addition to my lesson. I would not hesitate in using it again!

Leave a Reply

