Here we go…

Good evening, morning or afternoon, (depending on where in the world you are)

I have been meaning to start blogging for a long time now; infact I have tried on numerous occasions. Tweeters like @deputymitchell, @dugghall and @mrrobbo have inspired me to share the great CPD I face on a day to day basis through Twitter and my day to day job.

Who am I?
I am a 23 year old trainee PE teacher. I am currently working at a state secondary school in Northamptonshire in a number of roles. My official job title is PE Technician, as well as Head of House, Teaching Assistant and Unqualified Teacher (Geography). Yes, you could say I hold a number of roles in school, but surely I want the best teaching experience I can before I head to Loughborough University in September 2012 to complete a PE PGCE? Well, to add to that, I also have my own Yr9 Tutor group as well as co-ordinate the student voice and the Duke of Edinburgh Award.

I count myself very lucky in the experiences I have had so far in my dream to become a teacher. The people I work with on a day to day basis have supported me all the way and wouldn’t be where I am now without them.

However, I strongly believe that Twitter has enabled me to experiment and has provided me with an endless list of ideas to incorporate into my teaching. Hopefully I can repay you all by sharing what has/hasn’t worked for me, what apps I feel can improve our teaching and discuss the new hot topics in Education.

I really hope that you enjoy following this blog, and keep your eyes open for the next one.

Please follow me on Twitter (@mrwickenspe) and say Hi.

Thanks,
Ross

7 Comments Add yours

  1. mrrobbo says:

    Looking forward to following your blogging journey

  2. mrrobbo says:

    Seeing as though I’ve just read your first blog post, I should rightfully share my first. http://thepegeek.com/2008/09/05/sink-or-swim-the-choice-is-yours/

    Reading this, its amazing how far blogging can progress your own thoughts and ideas. Best thing i’ve ever done for my career.

    1. mrwickenspe says:

      Thanks. Think that first post is the hardest.

  3. Nick says:

    very well said

  4. Nourish.Surf.Exert. says:

    Hello. I’m a trainee pe teacher. I’m currently a teacher aide as well (I juggle uni & work in a school) my main responsibility is taking the educational care of an autism boy, but also a challenging year 9 that has problems fitting in and is the class clown. I read your blog on seek n spell. I’m going to give it a go tomorrow. Look forward to following your blog .
    Brooke

    1. mrwickenspe says:

      Thanks for your comment. Let me know how it goes tomorrow. Where are you based?

      1. Nourish.Surf.Exert. says:

        Torquay/Lorne Vic Australia

Leave a Reply

